None Shall Sleep (80/365)

Not many people know that pop singer Michael Bolton is classically trained in opera as well.  I looked up a couple of videos on You Tube and happened upon Bolton singing Nessun Dorma.  For those who aren’t opera fans, you may remember this song from Tom Hanks’ Philadelphia – it was the song playing when the case was finally won.

I was surprised by how much the song affected me.  Since it was in Italian (and because my intention of studying Italian in college so did not happen), I looked up its English translation and came up with this:

“Nessun dorma!  Nessun Dorma! Tu pure, o Principessa, nella tua fredda stanza, guardi le stelle… che tremano d’amore, e di speranza!”

(None shall sleep!  None shall sleep!  Even you, O Princess, in your cold bedroom, watch the stars… that tremble with love and with hope)

“Ma il mio mistero è chiuso in me; il nome mio nessun saprà! No, No! Sulla tua bocca lo dirò quando la luce splenderà!”

(But my secret is hidden within me; none will know my name! No, no! On your mouth I will say it when the light shines!)

“Ed il mio bacio scioglierà che ti fa mia!”

(And my kiss will dissolve the silence that makes you mine!)

Heard from a chorus of women singing in the distance: “Il nome duo nessun saprà… E noi dovrem, ahimè, morir, morir!”

(No one will know his name… and we will have to, alas, die, die!)

“Dilegua, o notte! Tramontate, stelle! Tramontate, stelle! All’alba vincerò! Vincerò! Vincerò!”

(Vanish, o night!  Set, stars!  Set, stars!  At dawn, I will win!  I will win!  I will win!)


I was very surprised to find myself nearly in tears by the end of the aria.  If you want check it out, click here.

Anyway, I’ll go back to paying attention to Charlie St. Cloud now.  Maybe I’ll even think of getting some food (it’s 1:30 pm and I haven’t had a decent meal yet).  Catch y’all later!

Ciao, Bella.


Blessed Be…

Leave a comment

Filed under iWatch, Jei Pod

Leave a Reply

