One Day in My Life

I took a day off, knowing that I would be sore from the volleyball game that happened yesterday – that in itself is a whole other story which deserves a post of its own.  I was right, mind you, about the soreness.  I’ve been in bed all day due to being unable to move my arms and legs without pain.  But I don’t mind being sore.  It was a good game.  As I’ve said so many times since the five-set game ended… “Akalain mong kaya ko palang gumulong ng ganun?”

So today, I went online, played Sims3, ate dinner, went online, played Sims3… and then I saw that Bicentennial Man was showing on HBO.  Bicentennial Man… I love this movie.  I cry every time I watch it.

As a tribute to a film that touches me every time, here are some quotes lifted from the script:

“One has studied your history. Terrible wars have been fought where millions have died for one idea, freedom. And it seems that something that means so much to so many people would be worth having.” – Andrew (on freedom)

“I try to make sense of things. Which is why, I guess, I believe in destiny. There must be a reason that I am as I am. There must be.” – Andrew

“What’s right for most people in most situations isn’t right for everyone in every situation! Real morality lies in following one’s own heart.” – Portia

“Do you know what it feels like to be in love with someone that is about to marry someone else?” – Andrew

And these final words…

“According to the records at the NorthAm Robotics Company, the robot also known as Andrew Martin, was powered up at 5:15 pm on April 3rd, 2005. In a few hours, he’ll be 200 years old, which means that with the exception of Methuselah and other biblical names, Andrew is the oldest living human in recorded history. For it is by this proclamation, I validate his marriage to Portia Charney, and acknowledge his humanity.” – President Marjorie Bota

Bicentennial Man is a wonderful film to watch when trying to see human life through an outsider’s point of view.  Andrew Martin, an android, was able to achieve what he so longed for before at end of his existence: his humanity.  We, on the other hand, are born with ours.  We should be more grateful.

Leave a comment

Filed under iWatch, This So-Called Life

Leave a Reply

