When Harry & Sally Met Mr. & Mrs. Smith

I’m watching (kinda) When Harry Met Sally.  It’s in my list of movies to watch along with Casablanca and Breakfast at Tiffany’s.  After today, I’m still going to have to watch it again since I wasn’t really paying too much attention.  Anyway, I googled some of the lines after I heard this one… “He kept on saying he didn’t want to get married.  It wasn’t that he didn’t want to get married.  He just didn’t want to marry me.”  Ouch.  That was a little too close for comfort.

***

Harry Burns: It is so nice when you can sit with someone and not have to talk.

***

Marie: I don’t think he’s every going to leave her.

Sally: I know he’s never going to leave her.

Marie: You’re right, you’re right. I know you’re right.

***

Harry Burns: And was it worth it? The sacrifice for a friend you don’t even keep in touch with?

Sally Albright: Harry, you might not believe this, but I never considered not sleeping with you a sacrifice.

***

Marie: All I’m saying is that somewhere out there is the man you are supposed to marry. And if you don’t get him first, somebody else will, and you’ll have to spend the rest of your life knowing that somebody else is married to your husband

***

Marie: Everybody thinks they have good taste and a sense of humor but they couldn’t possibly all have good taste.

***

Sally Albright: You see? That is just like you, Harry. You say things like that, and you make it impossible for me to hate you.

***

Sally Albright: I am not your consolation prize, Harry.

And, of course, this one…

Harry Burns: I came here tonight because when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.

There are about more than a dozen more, but it’s the second New Year’s celebration showing on the screen and I’ve got tears in my eyes… Then they had these little cut scenes when they were talking about how they met and how they ended up together and suddenly I realized that this was what Mr. & Mrs. Smith was going for.

=)

Leave a comment

Filed under This So-Called Life

Leave a Reply

