Because Knowing is Half the Battle

Just because I haven’t done this in a couple of days…


The Bottom Line

Be patient. A friend is having a hard time managing their partnership with you.


In Detail

How long has it been since you made a real effort to get away from it all? Okay, you may not be able to get away to Aruba on the spur of the moment (although if you can, you definitely should), but you can find a few moments to spend some TLC on yourself. How about a walk in the park before work? Maybe a few hours after work with the phone unplugged and your favorite book? It’s amazing how refreshing even a brief respite can be.


Boyfriend and I have been talking about going back to Baguio.  Honestly, my two trips earlier this year really did make me realize that deep down inside, despite my obvious enjoyment of the drama, I think I’d want a quiet life one day.  That was what I found in Baguio.  Quiet.  Peace.  With what’s been happening these past few days, maybe it’s time that I go back.  There are a couple of places that we’ve been wanting to go to but haven’t been able to visit (like the Crystal Cave and the Grotto).  I just remembered that because of what the stars said.


On to other things…


I was surprised.  I honestly did not think that I would enjoy the G.I. Joe movie, seeing that the reviews have been mixed and that I had no real interest in the cartoon series, but I’m glad that it turned out to be a decent experience.  Was it the greatest movie ever made?  No.  Was a sorry that I waited one entire week before finally watching it?  No.  But in the end, I’m glad I did.  We were deciding between Up and G.I. Joe before having dinner.  Up has been getting really good reviews (plus I wanted to watch it because the tubby little boy is sooo cute!) and G.I. Joe seems to be leaving viewers confused as to whether they like it or not.  The again, I’ve never been known to rely much on reviews.  When I was in college – or some time right after I graduated –  I bought a copy of Gigly.  Despite everyone – local and international – saying that the movie sucked, I still wanted to watch it.  At the end of it all, I wanted to be the one to decide whether or not it was crap.

It was crap.

G.I. Joe, on the other hand. was not.  To be honest, beyond Channing Tatum, Marlon Wayans, Dennis Quaid and Sienna Miller, I actually bother to check who else was in the movie.  The cinematography was to die for, just like the second Transformers movie.  I liked the twist at the end – how Rex survived the explosion and later on became that weird but brilliant doctor who masterminded the whole nanotechnology thing.  Admittedly, I got it before the plot eventually unfolded itself, but there’s still that little bit of satisfaction from being right all along.

The Baroness, played by Sienna Miller, was definitely something to watch.  I initially thought that she would be the most interesting characters in the movie – being Duke’s (Channing Tatum) former fiancee and all.  During the movie, I found myself wondering whether or not I had found another Nina Myers.  Unfortunately, this was not to be.  In the end, love conquers all and The Baroness turns good once again.

I so hated that.  It would have been better if she had stayed evil until the end.  I mean, if there is going to be a sequel, who’s going to be the kick-ass bad chick?

The MOST interesting character for me was Snake Eyes.  Storm Shadow was a very, very close second.  I love the background story between them and was very sorry that Storm Shadow died in the end.  He was a very effective villain – efficient and unforgiving.

I loved how they inserted flashbacks to explain stories that made most characters who they were.  It would be interesting if they went further with that and developed something independent focused on each of the characters.  Without the disappointment of The Baroness’ change of heart, I would have given this movie a 4.0.

G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra

G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra


Holed Up in Our Room in Colorado

Drowning in Dialogues from Supernatural


Blessed Be…

Leave a comment

Filed under iWatch, This So-Called Life

Leave a Reply

