All the Blessings that Be… (001/365)

The Boyfriend’s brother-in-law started blogging everyday – one of those posts that count how many you’ve done in 365 days – and it made me wonder if there was something on WordPress that came out resulting to this.  Apparently, there was.  Everyone, let me introduce you to DailyPosts.  I found it on my What’s Hot on my dashboard (obviously, I have never bothered to read these before)... and I’ve decided that I’m going to try it too.

Honestly, I don’t know how long I’ll be able to keep it up.  There was a time when I used to post on a daily basis, but then work would pile up and between spending time writing and resting, I had always chosen to rest.  But if there’s one thing that became very, very clear in 2010, it was that I am a product of the choices I’ve made (this is very Albus Dumbledore) and I made the conscious decision to grow up.  So, back to the daily posts thing – it’s worth a try, right?  At the very least, I get to say that I am living my Creative Dream.

Anyhoo…


Totally Awesome Things I’ve Been Doing:

Bought my N8 – Yes, it was high time I changed my phone (not that I haven’t tried – my E72 got stolen a week before I started working) and since 2010 was, well, all that it was, I figured it was time to give myself something nice.  It really was an iPhone 4 I wanted, but the N8 came with a 12-mp camera and it was way cheaper.

Bought Paddy – The Boyfriend refuses to call our iPad by its christened name =p  I got my hands on an iPad and realized it would be the perfect companion to the third thing on this list.

Downloading Free E-books – Although all bookstores call out to me when I pass by, I find myself in that stage in my career wherein I am constantly saving up, so the books are currently being listed as a non-priority (this is in comparison to new corporate clothes and make up).  I did make up for the lack of book-love, however, when I discovered the joy of downloading dozens and dozens of books online.  For those interested, my most frequent haunt is 4shared – try it and let me know how it works out.  Or, if you’re looking for something in particular, let me know the title or the author and I’ll help you out the best I can.  In line with this, I’ve even come up with a “library”, detailing how many books I’ve had, if these come from a series, and if I’ve read it or not.

Maintaining a Financial File – Upon joining Guthrie, I decided I would keep a closer eye on my finances.  I created a template that allows me to to keep tabs on how much I get every cut off, what my foreseen expenses are, whether it’s been paid or not, and my running balances on all existing bank accounts.  With the exception of the recent holidays, this file has kept my pocket out of financial pain.


Totally Awesome Things I Plan to Do:

This is my way of putting my resolutions on paper.  To date, however, I really only have 2.  I have a feeling it’ll grow as the days go by.

Travel – This year, I promised myself I would save up and make time to travel outside of the RP.  Fate helped me a little – I’m leaving for Hong Kong at the end of February.  This is something the company’s sponsoring, though.  I’d want to be able to visit Singapore by the 2nd half of 2011 with The Boyfriend =p

Write – I want to live my Creative Dream.  In joining Guthrie, I rediscovered my love for story-weaving.  Admittedly, it was caused by something my then-Boss required of me (I had to keep a journal for my first two and a half months) but that worked out really well.  In fact, one of the little projects I had in mind was to transfer some of my entries here.


So that’s that for today.  And I guess that makes it 001/365.  I can’t believe I just did that.


Blessed Be...

Leave a comment

Filed under This So-Called Life

Leave a Reply

