My Cousin Chuck (005/365)

Facebook is a truly wondrous thing… Do you know how many people I’ve reconnected with because of this particular social network site?  No?  Neither do I, but I’m sure it’s a lot.  I mean I’ve found people who I haven’t seen since high school!
So anyway, since I got back with my family, I’ve been seeing more of them – all holidays and family trips, actually.  One person who wasn’t there in 2008, however, was my cousin Chuck.  He apparently left for Spain and hasn’t really been back (I mean, he visited last year during the holidays but I only got to see him on Christmas and before I knew it, he was gone again).
Last night, though, I saw him online on Facebook – and decided to start a chat conversation with him.

Me:
hey chuck
happy new year
Chuck:
hi cousin
Me:
hey
Chuck:
likewise
Me:
how were the holidays?
Chuck:
peaceful
but fun
Me:
good, good
Chuck:
not as much hullabaloo here as we have back home
Me:
by the way, do you remember a bobby alvarez from crc?
Chuck:
sure do
nice bloke
Me:
really
Check:
very
Me;
new year was relatively quiet this year… we spent it in magallanes and fireworks weren’t allowed
i work with him now
he figured out we were related because of the last name
Chuck:
that’s a first
what do you do?
Me:
i left the bpo and went into consultancy
Chuck:
bpo?
not quite sure I know what that is…
Me:
what lina does – customer service through phone
Chuck:
ok but what does bpo stand for?
Me:
i did that for 7 years – i figured it was time to stop after that
Chuck:
what kind of consultancy do you donow then?
Me:
bpo stands for business processing outsourcing
generally, I go to different companies and qualify their training needs in terms of leadership
Chuck:
i figured as much but wasn’t sure if the acronym held there as well or it meant something like banco pilipinas de oro or what not… me and my weird ideas
Me:
that’s just my division though
Chuck:
cool
Bobby in the same division?
Me:
no, bobby’s in communication
Chuck:
oh ok
Gotta run cousin, nice running into you on here… let’s catch upagain soon! Big hug!
The more time I spend time with my family, the more I am in awe of how much of a Palenzuela I am.  Even 13 years away from them didn’t stop me for turning out to be exactly how I should be.

Talk about destiny.

Blessed Be…
Leave a comment

Filed under Secret Life of Bees, This So-Called Life

Leave a Reply

