On Making It Happen & Other Things (14/365)

One of the things I things I put on my Life List (also known as Things I Plan to Do Before I Die) was to learn how to speak French.  Funny, I never had the urge to learn until two weeks ago.  In college, despite having the opportunity to learn a foreign language, I refused to study French because it was too hard (and I was too lazy).  What I really wanted to take up Italian, but the classes were only available once a week – Thursdays from 7:30 am to 9:30 am – and I wasn’t exactly dying to go to school that early, so I copped out and ended up taking Spanish I instead.  This would have been a walk in the park because my ENTIRE family speaks Spanish.  Unfortunately, I think I didn’t really want to learn the language because even then I knew that I didn’t put so much effort into it.

These days, however, I am pretty serious about wanting to learn French.  And maybe one of the triggers for this particular want was getting to go to Alliance and seeing all these possibilities.  Truth be told, I am more than serious about enrolling in a 24-hour course for Adult French.  It runs for 8 Sundays, 3 hours each week.  The entire package costs Php3,900.00, I think, which isn’t so bad as long as I actually keep attending class.

Anyway, in line to committing myself to trying to expand my cultural views, I’ve downloaded “The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Learning French on Your Own”.  Presently, I’m reading the introduction 🙂  I’m reading it rather slowly because I want to savor the book.  What I plan to do, in order to make sure things stick in my head is to blog stuff that I learn about.  I’m now up to Part I: The Very Basics.  So more on that as we go along.

***

Brian and I decided to have dinner at Ayala Triangle yesterday.  We’ve heard so many good things about it and, since it’s just a 1o or 15-minute walk from my office, we decided to check it out.  We ended up having dinner in this cute Singaporean restaurant whose name I cannot remember at the moment.  It’s the same one where Ate Ria usually buys that awesome chicken dish she brings home.  Here’s what we ate:

Singaporean Stall Food
Roasted Chicken
Roasted Pork Rice Topping

We were originally deciding between 2 places – the Singaporean place and Banapple (about which we’ve heard amazing reviews) – and because we opted to have dinner at one place, we opted to have dessert at the other.  So off we went to Banapple to get sweets.  Brian got their bestseller for the month Berry Starry Cheesecake or something like that and I got Apple Caramel Crumble something or other.  The desserts fell short of our expectations.  What did catch our attention was how big the servings for the main dishes were and how good it looked.  All in all, dining in The Ayala Triangle was a very, very good experience.

Of course, that would not have been complete if there were no photos taken.  Here are some modified shots from this night:

City Lights
Ang Hiwaga ng Balete
Triangular Black
Night Life

To top everything off, Brian and I went jogging after arriving at the compound.  I covered 3 kilometers in 35 minutes.  Who would have thought? 🙂

Blessed Be…

Leave a comment

Filed under iRead, Tastebuds, This So-Called Life

Leave a Reply

