Drama, Drama, Drama (24/365)

For the first time since last Thursday, I actually feel like I can sleep through the night without waking up at 3:00 am.  Although obsing Bing is not as stress-free as obsing most people, it still gives me a couple of days before I have to go back and run the last day of PHS with Fujitsu.  Don’t get me wrong – I love my class – but the stress is just killing me.  And when I say “killing me”, I mean it.  Last Thursday, I bought my favorite sandwich from Starbucks and couldn’t even eat half of it – I ended up giving it to Arthur.  You have to understand, though, when I’m running session, I rarely eat because I have really bad nerves, but when I can’t even appreciate a Grilled Ham and Three Cheese Sandwich, something is definitely wrong.

But today, I feel better about things – probably because so far, I think my class is going okay, I’m 75% done with the PHS final assessment, and will not have to worry about whether my participants are actually learning something from me and whether they like me or not for another two days.

Also, very recently, I realized that Lee DeWyze is releasing prettier songs than David Cook.  Remember how big of a crush I had with David Cook the year he won American Idol?  Well, he turned out to be a disappointment because one of the first things he did after winning season 7 was do an ad for Sketchers.  How poppish – talk about selling out.  Anyway, I caught Lee DeWyze in last week’s elimination episode (which I will talk about more in a while) thought the song he sang was nice.  So I ended up looking up what’s in his new album and found this.


We fell asleep under the stars
And you woke up in my arms
And the rain and the rain and the rain
Was falling down trickled off our finger tips, oh oh

Felt like the earth stood still when I kissed your lips
I get chills chills chills just thinking about this
You were melting into me
And I was melting into you
It was the kind of moment that only time could kill
It was the perfect day, the day the earth stood still
The day the earth stood still

Another night goes by
Without you by my side
Oh and I dream and I dream and I dream
That we’re back, that were back to where we were
Take me back to here we were

Felt like the earth stood still when I kissed your lips
I get chills chils chills just thinking about this
You were melting into me
And I was melting into you
It was the kind of moment that only time could kill
It was the per

Do you ever think of me when you’re lying there alone?
Do you know, do you know what I’m going through?
Cuz I cant seem to let it go, and I wonder if you know, if you know…
That a part of me is still waiting for you…

Felt like the earth stood still when I kissed your lips
I get chills chills chills just think about this
You were melted into me, and I was melting into you
It was the kind of moment only time could kill
It was the perfect day, the day the earth stood still

Earth Stood Still

Lee DeWyze

 

So anyway.  That elimination night on American Idol… I am SO glad that Brian recorded it!  We all know the contestants for this season are REALLY good and REALLY young… but as with every season, there is that one that you get attached to and root for and feel so deeply for if and when he gets eliminated.  For the Season 7, I got attached to David Cook – not because of his very popular version of Mariah Carey’s Always Be My Baby, but because of what he did during their Idol Gives Back episode.  Wearing a white jacket, singing “Innocent, he then holds his palm up to the camera as the song ends and on it are the words “give back”.  Loved that.

For Season 8, I liked Danny Gokey and Kris Allen.  I hated Adam Lambert – although, if I had to admit, if American Idol was truly based on talent, he would have won.  Danny Gokey was inspiring when he sang Rascal Flatts’ What Hurts the Most.  Kris Allen, I just really liked since the beginning.  Very simple, very different from Adam Lambert who was perpetually screaming his head off on stage.  I even remember posting “…Wants Kris Allen to win but will understand when he doesn’t.”  And then he won.  I was two for two.

Last year, I originally rooted for Crystal Bowersox because I was bowled over by her rendition of Tracy Chapman’s Give Me One Reason.  Then I heard Lee DeWyze’s version of Owl City’s Fireflies and my loyalty transferred to him.  In 2010, I was three for three.

This season, I have two favorites – Scotty McCreary, the 16-year-old with the big, deep voice, and Casey Abrams, the 20-year-old singer who is such an individual there’s no denying who he is.  Last week, I gasped when it was announced that Casey Abrams was in the bottom three.  I baffled when he was left in the bottom two.  I was appalled when Ryan Seacrest announced that it was Stefano, the boy who could not sing with his eyes open, who was safe from elimination.

As with all other eliminations, Casey was given the chance to sing for his life.  Less than a minute into what could have been his final performance on the show, the judges waves to the band, signaling that the music should be stopped.  Less than a minute after he started singing, Casey Abrams was told by the judges that they were using their one save on him.  He burst into tears.

And so did I.

Talk about drama.


Blessed Be…

Leave a comment

Filed under iWatch, Jei Pod, This So-Called Life

Leave a Reply

