Now I Know How To Spell Mr. Snuffleupagus (30/365)

***originally written on 04.05.11***

Thank you, Truthseeker, for very nicely providing the correct spelling of Big Bird’s imaginary friend’s name.  I hope I get to meet up with you for coffee or whatever it is that we order in Starbucks one of these days.

So… Today’s list of shower songs…

  1. Your Song, Ewan McGregor’s version from Moulin Rouge (and yes, I cry buckets over this movie, regardless of how many times I’ve seen it in the past.  I looooove Moulin Rouge – probably of how much it advocates for a life full of art and love.  I don’t, however, like “Come What May”.  I find it too sappy.)
  2. Finally Found Someone, Barbara Streisand and Bryan Adams – soundtrack from The Mirror Has Two Faces.  I am in the process of looking for a copy to download and, unfortunately, I have not been able to find one as of yet.  Two things about this movie: one, of course, is the song.  Who wouldn’t fall in love with the words to that song?  Second, the concept of “The Perfect Bite”.  That stuck to me and I keep finding that I do it – attempting to create the perfect bite – whenever I eat out.  That, in turn, causes me to eat slowly which annoy people to no end.
  3. In Demand, Texas – one of her lesser known songs.  I found this back in the early 2000s, I think.  I was in college then or just about to finish or just finished or something like that.  So it’s this song about a girl singing to the guy who let her go, telling him that she was “The One” and he should have known better than to have let her go.  Plus the video features Alan Rickman (more recently known as the Late Great Severus Snape).
  4. Last Chance, Allure – I cried buckets over this because of its video.  It’s such a sad, sad, sad, sad song.  The video revolves around this guy and this girl who have obviously known each other for a while and are really good friends.  And then the scenes progress to show the girl preparing for her wedding.  The couple then dances alone in a room to the tune of this song… And it’s super obvious that they’re so in love with each other.  For those who don’t have such a wild imagination or who aren’t jaded enough to think of possible reasons why that moment was not perfect, it would seem that this particular scene was soooo sad but slightly out of place.  Towards the end of the song, we’re brought to the wedding itself.  The camera focuses on the girl walking down the aisle.  Then the man she was dancing with, waiting near the altar.  Then the camera pans out and we see the man she shares that lovely dance with is not the groom, but the best man.  Who, in their right minds, will not cry with that?!?!?!
  5. You’re Still the One, Lee DeWyze – I wasn’t crazy about the Shania Twain version but I did really like Lee DeWyze’s version.  Or I could just be really biased.
  6. My Favorite Mistake, Sheryll Crow – I love Sheryll Crow. LOVE.  Ever since I heard her version of “The First Cut is the Deepest” in 2004 (wherein the song was very apt, in case you were wondering), I decided to make her one of the more influential artists in my life.  She has yet to disappoint.  Oh, and this is the song I first learned to play on the bass.
  7. Hallelujah, Kate Voegele – I have three versions of this song I think – the original by Jeff Buckley, the one sang by Lee DeWyze and this one, which I heard from One Tree Hill.  I love Kate Voegele.  She’s part of my Angry-Girl-Music playlist.  Hallelujah, however, I first heard from Shrek =p  And it was one of the songs I wanted for my wedding… Until I finally learned the words and realized it wasn’t such a great idea.  I’d still want to hear it when I get married… probably as an instrumental.  Hallelujah, to a certain extent, is a jaded song (“…Love is not a victory march.  It’s a cold and it’s a broken Hallelelujah…”) and yet every time I listen to it, it moves my heart, more often than not, to tears.

So that’s my list for today.  More to come tomorrow.  I hope.


Blessed Be…

Leave a comment

Filed under iWatch, Jei Pod, Secret Life of Bees, This So-Called Life

Leave a Reply

