The Universe and You (31/365)

*** Originally written on 04.06.11***

I have to find that song.  For those who don’t know yet, I cry (or, at the very least, get a little teary-eyed) when I watch Grey’s Anatomy.  And Brothers and Sisters.  Right now, however, I’m watching Grey’s.  Yes, the infamous musical episode and I have been crying through my hunger for the last forty minutes.  I’m crying, okay, Jenn?  I hope you’re happy =p

It’s the songs, I think, more than anything else, that makes me cry.  That and the fact that I am a sap.  Deep, deep, deep, deep, deep down inside, I am mush.

Anyway… My shower songs for today…

  1. Teardrops on My Guitar, Taylor Swift – Whoever Drew is, he sure was lucky.  I love this song and, until not very recently, I wasn’t even a fan of country music.  Favorite lines: “He’s the reason for the teardrops on my guitar.  The only one who’s got enough of me to break my heart…”
  2. I’d Lie, Taylor Swift – The long and the short of it is I am a Taylor Swift fan and this song I like so much I contemplated singing it for last year’s Christmas Party.  I did, for a split second, thought about buying tickets for her concern last February.  Favorite lines: “He stands there then walks away.  My god, if I could only say I’m holding every breath for you..”
  3. So Close, Jon McLaughlin – There are so many lines in this song that are so touching (for lack of a better term) that if I write it down, I might as well have written the entire song.  Soundtrack from the film Enchanted, which I wrote about a couple of days ago.  I first watched the movie in late 2007… and it did change my life.  So every time I hear this song, I still remember that change and how I don’t really regret it.  And it always, ALWAYS makes me cry. “…We’re so close to reaching that famous happy end, And almost believing this was not pretend, Let’s go on dreaming for we know we are… So close… So close… And still so far.” I would, I think, also want to, one day, dance to this song.
  4. When We Dance, Sting – I am a big fan of Sting.  It started with Fields of Gold, really.  But then after really listening to the words, When We Dance and Why Should I Cry for You won.  And yes, I still want someone to sing this to me =p “…Cathedrals are broken, Heaven’s no longer above And hellfire’s a promise away, I’d still be saying I’m still in love…”
  5. Empire State of Mind, Glee – And for every list, there’s always one that kind of sticks out like a sore thumb.  I do love this version, though.  It’s a good song to dance to in the shower in the morning 😉
  6. Fire, Babyface and Des’ree – Wasn’t this a soundtrack to some movie?  I don’t remember where I heard it first, only that it’s the kind of song that grows on you.  It’s the kind of song that gets under your skin and makes chills run down your spine when you hear it.  “…Say I dont’t love you but you know I’m a liar… Cause when we kiss, ooh, fire…”
  7. Last Chance, Allure – Do I really need to write more about this?  Not tonight, I think 🙂 “…But this is my last chance to say what’s in my heart before you fade out of my life… And never understand the way I feel inside…”

I have half a mind of asking a question every morning and see how my songs answer it 😉  Is that a good idea or what?  Only I’ll never say what the question was and you will forever be wondering what I was asking about =p

And now it’s Thursday night and I’m finally finished with this post.  Tonight, I think, I’ll leave you with this…

If I walk would you run
If I stop would you come
If I say you’re the one
Would you believe me

If I ask you to stay
Would you show me the way
Tell me what to say
So you don’t leave me

The world is catching up to you
While you’re running away
To chase your dream

It’s time for us to make a move
Cos we are asking one another to change
And maybe I’m not ready but I’ll–

Try for your love
I can hide up above
I will try for your love
We’ve been hiding enough

If I sing you a song
Would you sing along
Away till I’m gone
Oh how we push and pull

If I give you my heart
Would you just play the part
Or tell me it’s the start
Of something beautiful

Am I catching up to you
While you’re running away
To chase your dreams

It’s time for us to face the truth
Cos we are coming to each other to change
And maybe I’m not ready but I’ll–

Try for your love
I can hide up above
I will try for your love
We’ve been hiding enough

I will try for your love
I can hide up above

If I walk would you run
If I stop would you come
If I say you’re the one
Would you believe me

 

Try

Asher Book

 

For the record, I hated the remake of Fame.  So many people said that the ’80s version was so much more controversial, so I really looked forward to the this decade’s version.  And it was such a disappointment!  Gaaaah… And then I was listening to my phone on the way to work the other day and this played and I suddenly realized that, at the very least, something good came out of that film.  “…If I sing you a song would you sing along?… It’s time for us to face the truth ’cause we are coming to each other to change and baby I’m not ready but I’ll… Try for your love…”


Blessed Be…

Leave a comment

Filed under iWatch, Jei Pod, Secret Life of Bees, This So-Called Life

Leave a Reply

