My New Favorite Mistake (36/365)

I know I owe you a couple of days’ Shower Songs.  I’ve been a little busy the last couple of nights (thanks for Distillery and Big Sky Mind), but here you go…

Thursday (April 14th)

  1. Aaliyah Song, Boyz II Men – This leaves a very different feeling as to Christopher Cross’s Think of Laura, and although it sings of being happy for a life lost too soon, it still makes me feel a little sad.
  2. Forever, Hillsong – This is such a feel good song.  Listening to it makes me smile the way listening to Butterfly Fly Away makes me want to cry.  “I’ll worship at your throne/Whisper my own love song/With all my heart I’ll sing/For you my dad and king…”  Or, then again, it could be all my daddy issues rising to the surface.
  3. So Close, Jon McLaughlin – This is a very popular song in my lists.  Haven’t you noticed?
  4. Firewoman, Hungry Young Poets – How reminiscent of my younger years! And it made me realize I have to start downloading songs by Mojofly.  “Did you come for danger?/You gave me love for pain/Now you’re much more than a stranger/I want to give you love but all I have is rain…”
  5. Taking Chances, Glee – Originally by Celine Dion and, yes, I have that version in my iTunes as well.  I just happened to like Lea Michelle’s version better.  I did consider singing this during that musical event Lesley invited me to… but that didn’t happen, so singing this is something that will have to wait.  “Don’t know much about you life/Don’t know about your world but/Don’t want to be alone tonight/In this planet they call earth…”
  6. Someday We’ll Know, Mandy Moore and Jonathan Foreman – I loved this when New Radicals first came out with it.  When the duet version came out, it became very sentimental.  The words were written by an artist, if I may say, because each stanza paints a very unique picture.  At least for me.  “Someday we’ll know why Samson loved Delilah/One day I’ll go dancing on the moon/Someday you’ll know that I was the one for you…”
  7. Breakeven, The Script – I first heard this when Casey Abrams used it as his audition piece for American Idol.  Then there was that post that I have now locked due to sensitive content that carried its words as the title.  “‘Cause when a heart breaks, no, it don’t break even…”
Friday (April 15th)
  1. Invisible, Taylor Swift – I found this by accident two years ago and it never really became as popular as her other songs, but I can honestly say that this was the one that made me a Taylor Swift fan.  “Like shadows in fading light…”
  2. I Don’t Wanna Wait, Paula Cole – Another list favorite.  Whenever I sing this song, people are always reminded of Dawson’s Creek (which I loved, by the way, and I cried buckets when they aired the last episode).  I, on the other hand, tie this song to something else.  Unfortunately, I don’t remember what that something is.  All I know is that it’s something other than Dawson’s Creek.
  3. It Might Be You, Stephen Bishop – Tootsie!  That was such a sweet film, although the ending left me a little wanting.  I hear this song and I automatically think “Prom”.  Coincidentally, I recently attended a class held in Makati Shangri-La’s Quezon Ballroom and I will forever associate that place with my Graduation Ball.  “If I found the place would I recognize the face?… I’ve been saving love songs and lullabyes/And there’s so much more/No one’s ever heard before… And I’m feeling it’ll just be you/All of my life…”
  4. It’s Gonna Be Love, Mandy Moore – Some people find it surprising that I like Mandy Moore.  I guess when you see most of the songs in my iTunes, you really wouldn’t think I’m the type to listen to Mandy Moore… and, truth be told, I’m really not.  This was just an exception.  “If I’m asking you to hold me tight/It’s gonna be alright…”
  5. So Close, Jon McLaughlin – Need I say more?
  6. Out of My League, Stephen Speaks – I only know to songs by Stephen Speaks – Passenger Seat and this.  This was the one that stuck.  It was everything about this song – the words, the simple melody, the notes played on the piano.  It’s such a quiet song, but it’s the kind that haunts you when you sleep.  It’s also the song I want boys to sing about me =p 
I’m still getting used to not having work on Saturdays, I think.  Every quiet Saturday is still such a novel for me – being able to wake up whenever I want, spending two days at home instead of one.  I spent Friday night at Big Sky Mind with Brian.  It was just supposed to be dinner, but then Eloisa and Jeremy showed up and we ended up hanging out until 1:00 am.  On that note, I’d like to greet you, Mr. Luna, a very belated happy birthday and congratulations on your promotion 🙂
Chris decided to bail on the last minute, pleading extreme stress due to work and lack of sleep.  Mr. Garbin sent a message saying he was getting out at 3:00 am, so he would not be able to meet me at Banchetto like we originally planned.  The trip to BSM was an unplanned thing – a very good one at that, though.  They had an event last night and featured a lot of amateur bands (who were really good in a alternative rock sort of way).  It was a very, very good way to end a rather confusing week.
Thursday night, I finally kept my promise to Ivan and dropped by Distillery.  I’ve been meaning to go for the last couple of months, but I’ve never really had the time until two nights ago.  There I had my first ever Mojito – thus, the title for this entry.

My New Favorite Mistake

I don’t think I’ll ever be the drinker my father (or the rest of my family) was.  A single order of a mild cocktail and I was having a migraine.  It eventually went away in the middle of dinner at R&J’s, but not before I drank a bit of soda and had a bit of food.  I don’t think my tolerance level for imbibing alcohol will ever be the same as it was as when I was in high school – but I really don’t think it’s a bad thing.  Right?
I have a family thing tomorrow in Ayala Alabang… at the house in Lipa, with my uncle and his wife.  Yes, that wife.  About that… Was I overreacting?  I’m still waiting for an answer, you know =p

On a rather unrelated note, I’m watching Enchanted (again).  Two things – one, I now know Patrick Dempsey’s character’s name (Robert); and two, that one singular moment when Robert and Giselle realize things are different and will never be truly the same ever again?  I found it 🙂  And it never fails to pull on my heartstrings.
I’m just waiting for the scene where they sing to Jon McLaughlin’s So Close so I can start crying.  As usual.


Blessed Be…
1 Comment

Filed under iWatch, Jei Pod, Tastebuds, This So-Called Life

One response to “My New Favorite Mistake (36/365)

  1. Truthseeker

    DISTILLERYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY. Thanks to them my repertoire and vocabulary for drinking has been greatly expanded.

    (plus I love the Black Russians they serve.)

Leave a Reply

