And We Say Goodbye to Maggie May (38/365)

I don’t think I’m used to not going to work anymore.  When I stopped working so long ago, the first few days were truly amazing… then they begin to blur until you couldn’t even tell when one day ended and the next one began.  Carmen (from The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants) was right when she said ‘you could get used to almost anything.’  I got used to not working and now I’ve gotten used to the exact opposite of that.  Don’t get me wrong, I love what I do – but I have to admit, having a 4-day break is so right on so many levels 🙂

So here I am, trying to catch up with my writing, doing my best to make up for lost time.  I owe you a lot of stories, I know.  So let’s start from the beginning, shall we?

First and foremost, let’s talk about the last American Idol elimination.  On a slightly non-relevant note, I can barely remember when I last wrote a post, which probably means it’s been too long since the last time.  Last week, we said goodbye to Paul McDonald, the eccentric performer with the unbelievably white teeth.  Based on performances, I understand why it was him.  His rendition of Bob Seger’s Old Time Rock and Roll was, as always, amusing and interesting and different.  But it wasn’t astounding.  As Brian said when we were talking about this, Paul’s number paled in comparison to those the others gave.  Personally, though, I knew Paul was not going to win American Idol.  He’s too unique to be truly appreciated.  He’s one of those artists that people don’t usually get.  And, this week anyway, I guess they didn’t.

It’s too bad, really.  I was waiting for him to sing something from Sting.  He has the perfect voice for it, don’t you think?  Or something by Rod Stewart, like Have I Told You Lately – one of my all-time favorites, by the way – or For the First Time, a song that still wants to make me cry every time I hear it.  But I guess I’ll never hear that now… Unless he decides to make a cover of it in a possible future album.

There was Rihanna, in the middle of things, singing her new single California King (Bed).  I liked the song – I even took the time to look up the words and downloaded it to my very quickly growing library of songs.  I loved Rihanna’s red hair – I still believe in my heart of hearts that red is meant to be my natural hair color 🙂 But for most part, it was the other things in her act that caught my attention.  I loved her dancers, with the white curtains and the contemporary moves.  I miss dancing – I don’t think I’m particularly good at it, but it is something that I really enjoy.  I loved the story they told.  Then there was that guitarist who did the solo.  Talk about hot, man.  Then I realized the reason I enjoyed looking at him so much was because he reminded me of Jake Gyllenhaal in Prince of Persia (yes, I had to look up the correct spelling of his last name).  I saw him in Love and Other Drugs and he did totally nothing for me.  That and that movie kind of bored me to death after the first 20 minutes.  Someone tell me if it’s worth another sitting – preferably longer than a third of an hour this time.

A part of me wishes Hailey had been eliminated.  For some reason, the two remaining girls in the competition have begun to bore me.  I loved Lauren during the auditions and when she did Life’s a Climb, it was a good performance.  But she bores me.  Hailey, on the other hand has a performance record that could only be described as bi-polar.  When she’s good she’s really good but when she’s not, it makes me feel like I’m watching a really, really big wannabe on stage.  I love Hailey’s voice, but she annoys me to the depths of my soul.  I don’t connect with either girls, which is really sad.

Jason Lusk’s rendition of Bridge of Troubled Water was so good, it almost made me like him.  Almost.  That’s the operative word.  I still don’t.  What I do want to do every time he goes on stage is to put a big afro wig on his head, pour him into a dress and introduce him as Patti LaBelle or Chaka Khan or Aretha Franklin.  The dude’s even got the Mariah moves (watch his hands) and I burst out laughing.  Every.  Single.  Time.  Last week, I saw him differently – still comically, but no longer with disdain and obvious dislike.  It was such a novelty, having someone who could sound like Luther Van Dross and Angie Stone in the same song.  Respect.  That was what he got from me after last week.  He does, albeit still very, very annoyingly existent, deserve to be there.

Second to the last, I want to say something about Stefano What’s-His-Name.  Singing End of the Road is not something you hear every season.  And, yes, he did the song justice.  I’m very happy about that.  I liked what Jennifer told him – “You’ve got to stop singing to stay and start singing to win.”  That sounds like something I would say during session.  

And, of course, there’s Casey Abrams.  I won’t say too much because I will start sounding preachy – it’s a little too obvious that he’s my favorite.  Of all the genres, jazz is the one that takes me to a different world the fastest.  His version of Nature Boy made my heart soar and ache all at the same time.  

So many times when I truly enjoy what I hear, I close my eyes and let the music take me to where it will – Nature Boy did that.  My soul flew to New Orleans, to a dark, sophisticated lounge, to a scene from Moulin Rouge where everything is so alive and so big it almost seems it’s bursting at the seams.  At the same time, however, it made my heart ache because it made me realize that I missed singing so much.  When I sing, it’s one of the two times when I feel most alive – it doesn’t really matter whether I sing on stage, or in the theatre, or in a church; it doesn’t matter if I’m singing alone, or with a band, or with a choir.  

I dare you to guess what the other thing is. :p


Blessed Be…

Leave a comment

Filed under iWatch, This So-Called Life

Leave a Reply

