Into the Golden Halls of Asgard (40/365)

Two weeks.  It’s been two weeks since I last wrote… I’ve been mostly preoccupied by classes.  The revised program on advance supervision was finally relaunched on the last week of April.  I am extremely proud of it – prouder still, because the relaunch was a success.  Earlier this week, I was based at the Edsa Shangri-la to run our program for basic supervision.  I loved my class – we laughed together, cried together… most importantly, we learned together 🙂  It has been a tiring two weeks.  Most nights, I would fall asleep the minute my head touches my pillow.  But I wouldn’t have traded it for anything.


The weekend is really for a well-deserved rest.  Brian and I have barely spent time together, given our schedules – I have work and he has the basketball league committee – so we made it a point to go out on a date.  And, with that, I am very, very happy to say that, after a week of hearing about how good it was from people, I finally got to watch Thor.  Yay me!


A few things…

  • I actually really liked the movie.  More than just the elaborate cinematography, I think the back story was interesting.  In the end, though, it was the characters that held the film to a more than an average superhero movie.
    • Thor‘s character was well written and excellently played by Chris Hemsworth.  Thor, Son of Odin, showed a lot of growth throughout the film – from being a boy who was eager to be king, to a man who showed wisdom by acknowledging his need to further learn the role of leadership.
    • Natalie Portman’s portrayal of Jane Foster, Thor’s love interest, was a nice break from the drama that was Thor’s journey to self-enlightenment.  Although her character bore no intellectual or emotional significance for me, she was the right balance of comedy and romance to Thor’s broody and mysterious.
    • I was pleasantly surprised I was able to pick up on the fact that it was Anthony Hopkins playing Odin – I’m horrible at figuring out where I had previously seen actors in different roles.  It was his voice that triggered my memory.  He sounded the way he did in Meet Joe Black.  Hopkin’s Odin was believable and emotionally compelling.  He was both strong and soft, furious and heartbroken – you’d take one look at him and immediately understand why he was the All-Father.
    • It was Loki that was most interesting to me – whether it was because of my natural predisposition to prefer villains or the way he was portrayed (walking around in a cloud of enigma, bitter and broken because of a past he learned of too late).  I wish his story was better told… The constant comparison to Thor was nowhere to be seen and for it to be such a big motive for his actions was something that I had to come up with in my head.  Given that the character of Odin was written to be such a fair and wise protagonist, it was hard to tie that to Loki’s eventual interpretation of his role in the court of Odin.
  • Loki’s true ancestors were the Frost Giants, not the Snow People, as Chris had named them.I tried reading up on Norse mythology – a rather enjoyable after-effect of the film – and found that much to be accurate.  In the film, their race looked remarkably like the trolls in The Lord of the Rings – though not as slobbery – together with some general features of one of those gargoyles on top of the Notre Dame.  During the moments Loki has the Frost Giants’ power source in his hands and showed his “true” self, I found myself marveling at how much he looked like Nightcrawler.
  • I never really imagined Asgard to be so… shiny.  Its national color must have been gold because that was the most predominant color in the whole realm.  The way the film painted Asgard was very different from how I did when I read Edith Hamilton’s Mythology, but the world they created was very believable and interesting.  I liked what they said about magic and science – that magic is just science we don’t understand yet.  I agree with that completely.  It also amused me to no end that the gatekeeper looked exactly like how Taurus would (yes, the zodiac sign) had he come alive and become a person.
  • Thor looks like a younger, buffer version of McSteamy, don’t you think?  The accent is to die for, though.
  • The film made me particularly curious about Lady Sif, about whom I knew nothing about.  The film, as a whole, made me want to learn more about Norse Mythology.  I’ve always been into the Greed Gods and Goddesses.  Then my fascination with Isis led me to read up on Egyptian deities.  I guess it’s time I familiarize myself with a different set of supernatural beings 🙂


The previews were great – I got an idea of films I’ll be lining up to see in the theatres:

  • Fast Five – already showing, already watched by Brian.  Hopefully, it’ll still be showing next week so I could watch.
  • Green Lantern
  • Captain America: The First Avenger
  • X-Men First Class
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows Part 2 – like I would forget this.


So here’s to hoping I actually get to watch these.


Blessed Be…

Leave a comment

Filed under iWatch, This So-Called Life

Leave a Reply

