In the Advent of E-Books and the iPad… (55/365)

Just like so many other things in my life, there are those I run away from, and there are those I gravitate towards.  Books, I have begun to notice, fall into this pattern as well.  There are books I cannot put down once I’ve started reading (like Anita Daimant’s The Red Tent – a book I still cry over every single time I read it), and there are those that I just cannot seem to finish (like Milan Kundera’s The Unbearable Lightness of Being – of which I am still in chapter one).

Presently, I am reliving my journey with Harry Potter – the original plan was to have re-read all 7 books before the second part of the 7th movie came out, but that obviously did not pan out.  I’m currently in the middle of The Half-Blood Prince, excitedly anticipating Harry and Dumbledore’s trip to that little cave in the middle of nowhere.  And then, of course, there’s Dumbledore’s death at the end of the book.  Then it’ll be book 7 and I’ll be bawling while I read Rowling’s note the readers.

Then there’s Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games.  I’ve heard so much good stuff about this – and it was kind of hard to miss since bookstores and malls had banners containing reviews that included a quote from Stephanie Meyer saying it was something that she enjoyed reading.  It was very fortunate that I was able to get e-books of The Hunger Games, Catching Fire and Mockingjay – primarily done because I really don’t have enough money to buy all the books I want, but it was also out of curiosity and because Brian’s cousin, Elisha, was looking for copies too.  I mean, so many readers have said it was a good read  They couldn’t all be wrong, could they?

So I tried.  I mean I really tried.

I got really comfortable, opened up my pdf file and prepared myself to get caught up in the whirlwind that was supposedly one of the best books written in the last couple of years.  I started reading, and…

NOTHING.  

And when I say nothing, I mean nothing.  Not even the slightest spark of interest.

I have to admit, that’s a bit unusual for me – most of the time, I determinedly work my way through the story line until I get a vertical lift off (like Kathleen McGowan’s The Book of Love).  This time, most reminiscent of The Unbearable Lightness of Being, I just couldn’t get into it.  At least when I attempted to read The Unbearable Lightness of Being, I was able to get to the end of chapter 1.  This time, I couldn’t even get to page 3.  Since then, I’ve closed The Hunger Games file and have never attempted to read it again.  I haven’t even thought about giving it another go.  Until tonight.

I happened on this blog called The Read Queen and found a rather interesting way of possibly getting through books I have trouble finishing.  This particular blog put up a series called a Read-Along (and it did help that the book she’s currently reading is The Hunger Games).  Every week, the author reads a chapter and then writes about it – ensuring that the whole book eventually gets read, albeit the longer timeline.  It got me thinking… I could do this.  I could try reading it again – this time with armed with a plan.  Who knows?  Maybe I just need that little extra push to get to the point of vertical lift off.

So here’s to another go at The Hunger Games.  And since the weekend’s just beginning, the first Read-Along might just come out sooner than you think.


Blessed Be…

5 Comments

Filed under iRead

5 responses to “In the Advent of E-Books and the iPad… (55/365)

  1. Leo

    What’s with Hunger Games? My sister is about to finish that book.

  2. Leo

    For you I will. 🙂 Pano ko naman hindi mababasa kagad ang post mo, eh nasa blogroll kita!!! Once you update, I can see it right away, and my followers can read you as well. Ako na PR mo. Ako na. 🙂 LOL

  3. Asa blogroll din kita!

    And I saw your new layout… how orange!

  4. Leo

    I know! I occupy the top-most portion of your right pane! Ako na ang atribida sa blog mo. LOL. 🙂

Leave a Reply

