Because I was Reminded (59/365)

I was just reading a friend’s blog and he talked a little bit about gratitude – something that sprung from a book that he read (which I have now asked if I could borrow).  Probably about a dozen entries ago, I wrote that I would make a conscious effort to resurrect my Gratitude Journal.  Admittedly, I have done a very, very poor job at keeping this promise to myself – not because there hasn’t been a lot of be thankful for, but probably because I felt there were more interesting things to write about.  But when you really think about it, what’s more interesting than the things that make life a little bit more worthwhile?

I talk a lot about choice when I train and, as I’ve probably mentioned in previous entries, it’s something that I really believe in.  So I am making a choice – to see things in a better light; to believe that I can find that silver lining no matter how dark the cloud is.

I am thankful for…

  • Difficult, nit-picky people.  Despite giving me sleepless nights and the beginnings of tension headaches, I would not have known how much I could stretch myself if you had not asked for something outside of my comfort zone.  After slaving over how to make a sit-down training more interactive (or OD-fied), it was overwhelmingly satisfying to hear that my class brought back so much and that the change in their behavior and attitude were noticed by their functional heads.  We always say that the true test of learning is not when training ends, but when our participants go back to their work places.  That particular class passed with flying colors 🙂
  • Friends.  Special shout out to Arthur and Marvin, who have kept me amused to no end, but have been patient, supportive and level-headed whenever I need to process myself.
  • The Power Grid game.  It was a great mental exercise and worked well for my OC-ness.  Even if I still don’t understand it, trying to make sense of the entire thing was a great avenue to work with Marvin and YJ (who turned out to be pretty fun to hang out with).
  • Brian.  I get it that we’ll never see eye to eye about so many things.  And although there are things he does that I don’t really understand (and, as a result, drives me a little crazy), at the end of the day, I will always want to go home to him.  To our life.
  • Free ebooks.  Saves me a lot (and I mean A LOT) of money.  Just because I have to tell the world of the recent additions to my already extensive collection of reading materials, here are my most recent downloads:
    • Sisterhood Everlasting, Ann Brashares (done reading)
    • The Last Summer (of You and Me), Ann Brashares
    • Clockwork Angel, Cassandra Clare
    • The Devil Colony, James Rollins
    • Five Quarters of the Orange, Joanne Harris
    • Sleep Pale Sister, Joanne Harris
    • The Lollipop Shoes, Joanne Harris
    • The Warlock, Michael Scott (book 5 of The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series) – I already have books 1 to 4, but I downloaded those, too.
    • Heat Wave, Richard Castle
    • Pretty Little Liars, Sara Shepard (books 1 to 5)
    • Cleopatra: A Life, Stacy Schiff
Yes, I am obsessed with books.  No, I have not read all of it.  Yes, I plan to.  One day.  Hehe…

My life is not perfect, that much is obvious.  But that’s what I like most about it, I think.  It’s the imperfections that make it perfect for me.

Blessed Be…
1 Comment

Filed under iRead, This So-Called Life

One response to “Because I was Reminded (59/365)

Leave a Reply

