The Art of Simple Living – Part Un (74/365)

I found another awesome blog to read.  One of its entries speaks of simple living.  The author was right when she said that every person would define a “simple life” differently.  But more importantly, she was able to point out that one commonality between all those definitions – the creation of peace and harmony and living each day as easy as possible.

The 40 Little Lessons she shared is something I think most people would appreciate.  It made for a good read as well as an interesting (and cathartic) entry.

Lesson #1: Accept that you can not please everyone and stop trying to.

This has always been a damn if you do, damn if you don’t kind of thing.  No matter what you do, you will always encounter those people who do not agree, approve or be happy with what you’re doing.  So stop trying.  It’s hard to keep changing who you are and what you do just to make others happy.  I always try to remember that those who matter won’t mind and those who mind shouldn’t matter.  Or, as I once posted as an IM handle, “I don’t mind, and you don’t matter.”

Lesson #2: Be honest and open, it saves time.

People are not mind-readers.  If you get frustrated because other people expect you to understand them without them saying anything, then don’t do it to anyone else.

Lesson #3: Stick to a budget and live below your means.

I hate “surviving” – living from one paycheck to the next.  Most people think it’s a joke when I say I’m in “panahon de peligro” (dangerous times), but it’s been a real thing and it terrifies me.  So I’ve made up a new financial plan and hopefully, in a few months, I would have made progress.

Lesson #4: Start your day ahead of schedule.

A couple of years ago, I took the MBTI and it turns out I was an extreme J (judgmental).  It’s interpreted as being a stickler for schedules and it was so true.  I still think I’m one of the most adaptable people I know – this kind of flexibility is truly a gift – but I still like having some structure in my life.  This would probably explain why I really like making lists – and why horribly inconsiderate people piss me off to the ends of the earth.

Lesson #5: When it comes to cleaning, find corners you can cut.

I appreciate a clean room as much as the next person, but I’m not going to get my panties up in a bunch if it isn’t.  What I don’t like is when people get their panties all up in a bunch because a room isn’t clean and act as if you’re the only person who made the mess.

Lesson #6: Stop obsessing about other people, be true to yourself.

Go back to lesson #1: No matter what you do, you can’t please everyone… So you might as well do the things that make you happy.  Just make sure you’re prepared for what happens afterwards.

Lesson #7: Get your home, and work place, organized once and for all.

We all need a little organization in our lives, so we might as well do it.  As with anything else, it’s always the first step that’s the hardest.

Lesson #8: Purge regularly, both people and possessions, that have no use in your life.

It only truly matters if it’s real.  Real friends.  Things with real sentimental value.  When you really look at it, you’d be surprised how few the real ones are.

Lesson #9: Stay on top of debt.

There’s the credit card.  And my mobile network provider.  Then the cable.  And the electricity.  That doesn’t even include the things I really want to buy.

But I’m working on this.  I really am.  I know I’ve lost it for the last couple of years, but I have a plan now.  All I have to do is stick to it.

Lesson #10: Don’t be afraid to ask for help when you need it.

In the Devil’s Advocate, Al Pacino said, “Vanity is definitely my favorite sin.”  Vanity.  Pride.  We hold on to it so much because we think it makes us look weak when we let go and start needing other people.  But it’s the best of us, I think, who knows when we should hold on… And when it’s finally time to let go.

Check our Lessons 11 to 20 some other time.

*          *          *

On a completely unrelated note, I’m watching the first season of One Tree Hill (which is presently on it’s 8th season).  I’m starting the third episode and I’m still wiping away the tears I cried over the first two.  Talk about having issues.

Till then… Ciao.

Blessed Be…

1 Comment

Filed under iWatch, This So-Called Life

One response to “The Art of Simple Living – Part Un (74/365)

  1. nice…love it. can’t wait for next one

Leave a Reply

