The Book With The Silver Pages (99/100)

So Brian and I took my 11-year-old niece, Moira, out for Jamba Juice. Or at least that was the plan.

In truth, we did so much more than that. Somewhere along the way, the Universe once again proved that regardless if I had not been in Moira’s life in her early years, there is no denying that she and I are family.

Me, Brian and Moi-Moi in Jamba Juice

After Jamba Juice, we went to Fully Booked as I was in the search of art paper to use for next week’s session (first week of January and I already have 16 hours scheduled under my belt. Not baaaaaad). That was a fail, so we ended up sitting outside – Moi busy playing with Brian’s phone and me busy with taking pictures of them.

After a disastrous tweet posted by Moi – “In high street!  Just darnk jamba juice!  Of ro fridays!  I will say ir’s my bday so i’ll get free ice cream >:)” – we ended up in Riovana.  Brian, of course, had his gait checked again (as he does in every running store we ever go to).  My personal achievement was getting Moi to check her gait (she had told me earlier that there was no way that she was running).

French Onion Soup for Three

After their “workout”, we had dinner in Friday’s (Moira’s choice – which saved Brian and myself yet another conversation that revolved around, “Where do you want to eat?” “It’s up to you.”) Not feeling very hungry, I opted for a Friday’s Chicken Sandwich, which was a pretty good choice, if I do say so myself. Brian split a Rib Eye steak with Moira, while my niece decided to have a Bacon Cheeseburger for herself. And we split an order of French Onion Soup. In case you’re wondering if there were any leftovers… there weren’t. The biggest piece that was left over was about a third of my chicken (I didn’t eat the bread and I still couldn’t finish it). Then I very nicely told the manager that it was “Monica’s” birthday (yes, that’s her real name) so we could get free ice cream.

In an effort to work off all the food we ate, we dropped by Krispy Creme to pick up some donuts for Kalyx. Then we were off to return to Fully Booked to roam around. While Brian headed off to the music section, Moira and I planted ourselves somewhere on the second floor. I was wandering the aisles rather aimlessly when, suddenly… *gasp!*  There it was. The Book With The Silver Pages. It was hardbound with a purple cover, containing a silhouette of a girl. It’s title? Ghostgirl. How perfect was that?

The book begins with this:

Ever feel invisible?

Ever feel invisible? Charlotte Usher did. Teased by classmates, overlooked by teachers, beneath contempt of the popular and ignored by Damen, the guy of her dreams, she barely registered on the radar at Hawthorne High. The kind of girl no one would ever miss if she died tomorrow. And then she did…

The End?
Not exactly…

I am thoroughly convinced that the book was calling out to me – much like The Expected One did in Fully Booked Greenhills. And, really, when you look at it and look it up, you have to admit it’s a match made in heaven.



Ciao Bella!

Leave a comment

Filed under iRead, Tastebuds

Leave a Reply

