11 in ’12: Damian

In the last thirty-six hours, I have been watching episodes of The Glee Project. I’ve been trying to stretch it – trying to make it last as long as possible – but, finally, as I’m beginning to write this entry, Alex, Lindsay, Damian and Samuel are singing their last Last Chance Performances.

Before I move on, a little background. I have never, EVER been interested in The Glee Project in the past. During its run, I was able to catch part of an episode – the one where Emily gets cut – and the only thing that stuck in my head was Cameron and his rendition of Your Song. And then I went on to becoming uninterested all over again.

Then Rory Flanagan showed up in Glee. And then nine episodes later, Joe Hart appeared. Needless to say, suddenly, I was interested.

Enter The Glee Project.

In the course of 10 episodes, I have fallen in like, fallen in love, was fascinated and appalled by various characters (I’m not going to spend time describing the show. If you need this, however, go here. Or here.). Let’s take a look, shall we?

Here are the ones that made me smile time and time again…

Cameron
For me, he was the first person who made an impression. Me catching the episode where he sang Your Song for his Last Chance Performance didn’t hurt either. Cameron is awkward… and geeky… and a little coordinated. But something does burst out of him during his performances. And I’ve always had a thing for people who don’t fit in.

He’s also the only person who left the competition out of his own volition. I can’t find fault in this because he left for the right reasons – but I can’t help but feel the void that his departure left behind. If he had stayed on, he probably would have made it all the way to the top. One good thing did come out of his leaving, though – that was when Damian started getting better.

Marissa
There’s something about this girl that makes me want to look at her. I have a feeling it’s her hair. I look at her and I think of the song Jolene.

On the episode “Vulnerability”, she decided to change her sign in the middle of the video shoot. From saying “flawed” it was changed to “Anorexic”. I don’t think I appreciated her more than I did at that particular moment.

And, of course, there was that kiss with Samuel during “Don’t You Want Me?”

Hanna
Hanna is sweetheart. She’s funny and insecure and just so… real. Although I never really rooted for her to win (not like Cameron who was just such a strong contender since the beginning), she was one of those people that I appreciated because she was so sincere.

But I didn’t like everyone…

Alex
There’s no denying that Alex was one talented dude/dudette. When he finished singing “And I’m Telling You I’m Not Going”, I wanted to jump off the bed and clap. The thing that gets to me when it comes to Alex is that I kind of got the impression that he like to dish it, but he can’t take it.

He did soften up towards the end of the competition and seemed to have a real moment at one point, but it wasn’t enough to make me want to want him to win.

But more than Alex, there was…

Lindsay
I hated Lindsay.

True, she’s overflowing with talent, but I felt that the title that she really deserved was that of Drama Queen. She’s very seldom overtly snarky – except for that one time with Elis – but her “confession” shots say so much more about her than anything else.

Then there’s the limitless need of being the best. When Marissa was asked to kiss Samuel in “Don’t You Want Me?”, she just had to go off and kiss Cameron. When Alex broke down and cried during his session with Nikki, she just had to burst into tears too.

With Rachel Barry, it was kind of annoying (remember when she decided to run against Kurt for Senior Class President?) but at least she redeemed herself in the end. For Lindsay… well, let’s just say that the show’s over and my opinion of her hasn’t changed.

And then there were those who sparked my interest in the first place…

Samuel
This guy has the “It Factor” oozing from every inch of his body. To be honest, I started watching The Glee Project because of him and his appearance in “Heart”. I mean, the guy is HOT. You have to be blind not to see that.

I’m such a sucker for the rocker/tortured artist type. And Samuel fell right into this category.

Damian
And then there was Damian. I’d have to agree with what Nikki told him before his final performance – “You’re not the strongest singer. You’re not the strongest actor. You’re not the strongest dancer.”

There is something about this kid that I simply cannot explain. The first time he showed up in Glee, he wasn’t a standout. That’s why I never took interest. But in the show…

In the course of watching episode after episode of The Glee Project, I realized that I always start out looking for Samuel.

But I can’t take my eyes off Damian.


Ciao Bella!

Leave a comment

Filed under iWatch, This So-Called Life

Leave a Reply

