40 in ’12: Bits and Pieces

Of the hundreds and hundreds of songs in my phone (not to mention in iTunes), there are those that belong to that one playlist that is aptly called “My Life in Song”. On the way home tonight, I suddenly realized the reason why that playlist was titled as such in the first place. Those songs – it held bits and pieces of my life. Just like how I said I didn’t feel things like most people, maybe I don’t remember things the way most people do either.

So here’s to everything that made me who I am. If I had a chance to live it all over again, I wouldn’t change a thing.

Dancing Through the Dark in Neon Lights

The Song: I Want It That Way, Backstreet Boys
Why I Love It: The video. And this was when I realized Kevin Richardson was hot. Yes, I am a closet fan (I guess the secret’s out, huh?)

The Song: Suddenly, Soraya
The Words: “Suddenly in my life / There’s something that’s got me mystified
Why I Love It: Asides from the fact that it’s got an awesome melody in a slightly indie sort of way, it always reminds me of those little moments when I realize life can still catch me by surprise.

The Song: Alone, Heart
The Words: “And I was going to tell you tonight / But the secret is still my own / And my love for you is still unknown / Alone”
Why I Love It: Not many people can do it justice. I can. And it was the song I sang during my first christmas party with IGPI.
Who It’s For: You, the one I always loved but never told

The Song: Rumour Has It/Someone Like You, Glee
The Words: “Rumour has it I’m the one you’re leaving her for”
Why I Love It: Listening to this song while walking makes me want to strut. Seriously.

The Song: Only Hope, Switchfoot
The Words: “When it feels like my dreams are so far / Sing to me of the plans that you have for me over again”
Why I Love It: Although I prefer Switchfoot’s version to the one used in the movie, that kiss between Shane West and Mandy Moore made my heart skip a beat. Plus that whole “I didn’t want to be angry at god” shit hit too close to home.

The Song: Kiss Me, Sixpence None the Richer
The Words: “Strike up the band and make the fireflies dance / Silver moon sparkling”
Why I Love It: She’s All That. Freddie Prinze Jr. Besides, I’m a writer… with words like that, why wouldn’t I love it?

The Song: Leave Right Now, Will Young
The Words: “I think I’d better leave right now / Before I fall any deeper”
Why I Love It: Because it’s the one lesson I apparently never learn.

The Song: Through the Rain, Mariah Carey
The Words: “When you keep crying out to be saved / But nobody comes”
Why I Love It: Because the goddamn song makes me cry.

The Song: Without You, David Guetta featuring Usher
The Words: “I am lost, I am vain / I will never be the same / Without you”
Who It’s For: You, the one who keeps finding me… and the one I keep losing.

The Song: Seasons of Love, Soundtrack from Rent (the movie)
The Words: “In truths that she learned / Or times that he cried / In bridges he burned / Or the way that she died”
Why I Love It: Reminds me of senior year, when I first learned the song. Also, in the movie, it’s the first song the cast does… which essentially meant I was bawling my eyes out in the first five minutes of the film.

First 10 first… Tune in for more (pun intended).



Ciao Bella!

1 Comment

Filed under iWatch, Jei Pod, Secret Life of Bees, This So-Called Life

One response to “40 in ’12: Bits and Pieces

  1. Pingback: 43 in ’12: Up Close & Personal | Amor Vincit Omnia

Leave a Reply

