43 in ’12: Up Close & Personal

Everything I’ve written on this site has been personal… But recently, I’ve decided to open something a little different… Going through the song that made up most of my life. I’ve done 10 in Bits and Pieces. Here’s the second 10.

Enjoy 🙂

The Song: Landslide, Dixie Chicks
The Words: “But time makes you bolder / Children get older / I’m getting older too…”
Why I Love It: I heard this in Glee, when Santana and Britney sang it with Holly Holiday and I had tears running down my face by the first chorus. Originally done by Fleetwood Mac, but I prefer the version of the Dixie Chicks. Elise Testone, Colton Dixon and Phil Phillips also did their version in the most recently concluded season of American Idol. It’s definitely something worth checking out.

The Song: One of These Days, Michelle Branch
The Words: “… And I don’t mind saying / A part of me left with you / One of these days / I won’t be afraid of staying with you / I hope and I pray / Waiting to find a way back to you / ‘Cause that’s where I’m home…”
Why I Love It: It’s a sad song. I am perpetually in love with sad songs. Most of the songs in this playlist always make me cry.
Who It’s For: You, my best friend with whom I eventually fell in love.

The Song: You Can’t Stop the Beat, Cast of Hairspray
The Words: “…So if you don’t like the way I look / Well, I just don’t give a damn!”
Why I Love It: I love running with this song blaring in my ears! It completely brings my average speed up 😛 But I love how completely empowering this song is… And I completely LOVE Hairspray!

The Song: I Can’t Make You Love Me, Bonnie Raitt
The Words: “…Cause I can’t make you love me / If you don’t / I can’t make your heart feel / Something it won’t…”
Why I Love It: I first heard this song on The Voice on Black Saturday. It’s such a sad, sad song… One of my friends in the office said this is the kind of song that you listen to while in front of the fireplace holding a glass of whiskey. He was right.
Who It’s For: You, the Abstract Artist.

The Song: In Demand, Texas
The Words: “…He wrote my name on silver sands / I think you know you’ve lost the love of your life / (You said) I was the best you ever had…”
Why I Love It: Have you seen the video? It was so damn sexy… and you get to see Alan Rickman dancing 🙂
Who It’s For: You, the Voice of Darkness

The Song: Taking Chances, Celine Dion
The Words: “Don’t know much about your life / Don’t know much about your world but / Don’t want to be alone tonight / In this planet we call earth…”
Why I Love It: Although I am a great Celine Dion fan, I kind of stopped following her albums after the release of Falling Into You. Then I heard Lea Michelle sing it on Glee (so many of my songs in this playlist were picked up from watching that show) and I just completely fell in love with the high note that she hit. So I was sitting there and I said, “I gotta learn how to do that, too.” So I did.
Who It’s For: You, Green Eyes.

The Song: Crave, Marc Dorsey
The Words: “…And since you’re gone / My heart won’t behave / It’s your love I still crave…”
Why I Love It: It was Brian McKnight who said the reason why he kept on writing sad songs was because not everyone can relate to happiness, but everyone can relate to being sad. He made a very good point… And worked particularly well for me that I really felt like most of his songs were written especially for me. Crave talks about still being in love with someone who’s no longer with you. I’ve lived that life 10 times now. Apparently, it still hurts the same every single time.
Who It’s For: You, the Son of Adam.

The Song: Strong Enough, Sheryll Crow
The Words: “When I’ve shown you that I just don’t care / When I’m throwing punches in the air / When I’m broken down and I can’t stand / Will you be man enough to be my man?”
Why I Love It: This is for every man who wants to win my heart… But more than that, this particular song brings to mind that one teambuilding in Laguna, when – at that time – it felt like my life fell apart. And we were so far from civilization that I couldn’t run away no matter how much I wanted.
Who It’s For: You, my First Grown-Up Love

The Song: So Close, Jon McLaughlin
The Words: “So close to reaching that famous happy end / Almost believing this one’s not pretend / Now you’re beside me / And look how far we’ve come / So far… We are / So close…”
Why I Love It: It was that scene from Enchanted that sealed the deal for me. When Patrick Dempsey started singing to Amy Adams, tears were running down my face. I remember thinking to myself, “This is what I should have – a grand passion and a great romance.”
Who It’s For: You, Baby Bear… and, more recently, You, Baby.

The Song: Breakaway, Kelly Clarkson
The Words: “… Trying hard to reach out / But when I tried to speak out / Felt like no one could hear me…”
Why I Love It: Considering that I’ve felt like an outsider for most of my life, this song resonated with my soul on so many levels. I can’t get through it without crying.
Who It’s For: Me 🙂

Soul Speaking

I’ve come a long way, haven’t I? But the journey’s not over yet and I hope you continue to travel with me. Till we meet again…



Ciao Bella!

Leave a comment

Filed under iWatch, Jei Pod, Secret Life of Bees, This So-Called Life

Leave a Reply

