58 in ’12: I’ll Always Remember

Being stuck at home for the last 4 days (the first two because I’ve been feeling ill and the last two because of this never-ending rain) does have its perks. Apparently, a lot of other people have been stuck at home too because everyone has been online – excellent for catching up.

I went through a friend‘s notes in (social network undisclosed) and found a note that he posted. The instructions were straightforward and simple:

The rules: Don’t take too long to think about it. Fifteen books you’ve read that will always stick with you. List the first fifteen you can recall in no more than fifteen minutes. Tag fifteen friends, including me, because I’m interested in seeing what books my friends choose. (To do this, go to your Notes tab on your profile page, paste rules in a new note, cast your fifteen picks, and tag people in the note. Do yours before you read anyone else’s).

Of course, being the way I am, I’ve decided to post it here instead of (social network undisclosed). And, of course, my list came up to 20.

So here’s it is… The books that changed my life:

1. Nancy Drew and The Secret of The Forgotten City, Carloyn Keene (because it was the book that started it all)
2. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, J.K. Rowling (because it’s alright to always remember)
3. Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian, Rick Riordan (because one person can change the world)
4. Sisterhood Everylasting, Ann Brashares (because there are families we run from, and there are families we run to)
5. The Expected One, Kathleen McGowan (because it changed my faith)

Paper

Paper (Photo credit: Mele☺)

6. Wildwood Dancing, Juliet Marillier (because it made me believe in happily-ever-afters)
7. Once and Always, Judith McNaught (because this is how one should be loved)
8. Remembrance, Jude Deveraux (because this is how true love should be)
9. Tell Me Your Dreams, Sydney Sheldon (because it made me appreciate my course in college)
10. Helen of Troy, Margaret George (because it was the Tojan War from Helen’s eyes)
11. Something More, Sarah Ban Breathnach (because it I always have a choice)
12. Seven Ancient Wonders, Matthew Reilly (because it was the greatest adventure I had ever been in)
13. The Last Oracle, James Rollins (because it reminded me how it was to be innocent)
14. The Third Secret, Steve Berry (because it was a different telling of the third secret of Fatima)
15. The Witching Hour, Anne Rice (because it was about an extraordinary woman capable of extraordinary things)
16. Memnoch the Devil, Anne Rice (because it let me see the universe through completely different eyes)
17. Queen of the Damned, Anne Rice (because everyone has a story… even us evil ones)
18. Thirteen Reasons Why, Jay Asher (because there are days when I could have been the one who wrote it)
19. Nineteen Minutes, Jodi Picoult (because in nineteen minutes, you can have revenge)
20. The Witch of Portobello, Paulo Coelho (because it is the most enigmatic that we seek to understand)

What books will YOU always remember?

 

 

Ciao Bella!

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 Comments

Filed under iRead, No Man's Land, Secret Life of Bees

2 responses to “58 in ’12: I’ll Always Remember

  1. Pingback: 60 in ’12: The Waiting Game | Amor Vincit Omnia

  2. Pingback: 64 in ’12: A Kiss in the Rain | Amor Vincit Omnia

Leave a Reply

