59 in ’12: Memories in Melodies

Yesterday, I listed the 20 books that changed my life. A lot longer than that, I started sharing songs that have special meaning to me over the years… I made it up to 10 last time. And here’s the next 10…

Once again, enjoy 🙂

*          *          *

The Song: I’d Lie, Taylor Swift
The Words: “…He stands there then walks away / My god if I could only say / I’m holding every breath for you…”
Why I Love It: I still think the hardest kind of love is the one that you can’t tell the person you love about. Sad, but true.
Who It’s For: Mr. M

The Song: U Got It Bad, Phillip Phillips
The Words: “…I’ve been there, done it, messed around / After all that, this is what I found / Nobody wants to be alone / If you’re touched by the words in this song…”
Why I Love It: I liked Usher’s version, I really did. But have you heard Phillip Phillips? I could feel myself drooling while looking in his eyes through the tv screen?
Who It’s For: Ah, I haven’t met you yet 😦

The Song: Waiting in Vain, Annie Lennox
The Words: “…In life I know there is lots of grief / But your love is my relief.”
Why I Love It: I fell in love with this song when I watched Serendipity, so now I forever connect that song to that scene when Kate Beckinsale opens the door and the rose petals are blown in the living room. I am forever in love with that scene.
Who It’s For: Me… Because there are days that I feel I am always waiting. In vain.

The Song: Bleeding Love, Hollie Cavanaugh
The Words: “…But I don’t care what they say / I’m in love with you…”
Why I Love It:I was never a Leona Lewis fan, so although this song came out a couple of years ago and although it had a nice beat, I never really got into it. When I heard Hollie’s slower, more heartfelt version on Idol, I just completely, head-over-heels fell in love with it.


Who It’s For: Old Man (formerly known as Baby)

The Song: Jolene, Dolly Parton
The Words: “…Please don’t take him just because you can…”
Why I Love It: Everything about this song intrigues me – from the melody to the rhythm to the words. I’ve heard so many versions of this song, but Parton’s was still the best.
Who It’s For: Some people would say that this song is something some girls would sing for me… And they would be right. *smirk*

The Song: Even Angels Fall, Jessica Riddle
The Words: “It’s a secret no one tells / One day it’s heaven, one day it’s hell / It’s no fairy tale / Take it from me / That’s the way it’s supposed to be.”
Why I Love It: From 10 Things I Hate About You (a movie with a totally awesome soundtrack) – it was played during that scene when Kat ran out of prom after finding out that Patrick was paid to date her. Prior to that moment, I have never heard of the song before – but it caught my attention and now I have it in my playlist.

The Song: The Man Who Can’t Be Moved, The Script
The Words: “…I’m not broke I’m just a broken hearted man / I know it makes no sense but what else can I do / How can I move on when I’m still in love with you”

Why I Love It: As I said, after Son of Adam, the break-up with Baby Bear is the hardest one I took.
Cover of "Man Who Can't Be Moved"
Who It’s For: Baby Bear

The Song: One Sweet Day (Acapella), Boyz II Men & Mariah Carey
The Words: “…Darling I never showed you / Assumed you’d always be there / I took your presence for granted / But I always cared…”
Why I Love It: This song came out in 1995. I’ll always remember because that was the year my father passed away. Needless to say, my father and I have a rather long and complicated story. But that is another tale and will be told at another time.
Who It’s For: Daddy Dearest

The Song: If I’m Not In Love, Kathy Troccoli
The Words: “…And if my heart is lying then / What should I believe in…”
Why I Love It: It reminds me of sophomore year… back when everything was so much simpler. I love Kathy Troccoli’s voice – so mellow and soothing. This is the kind of song that I would love to slow dance to.

The Song: Dear Lie, TLC
The Words: “…Afraid the truth would hurt me / When it’s you that hurts me more…”
Why I Love It: One of the better songs in their Fanmail album. I actually like “I Miss You So Much” better, but this isn’t half bad.

*          *          *

So that’s 20 down, 159 to go. I’ll get there, I have no doubt 🙂

Until next time…

 

 

Ciao Bella!

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 Comments

Filed under Jei Pod, No Man's Land, Secret Life of Bees

3 responses to “59 in ’12: Memories in Melodies

  1. Pingback: 63 in ’12: And Hope… Hope Will Keep Me Alive | Amor Vincit Omnia

  2. Pingback: 65 in ’12: Would It Be My Fault If I Could Turn You On? | Amor Vincit Omnia

  3. Pingback: in love with a song. « Sick with Poetry.

Leave a Reply

