74 in ’12: How The Pieces Fit

Who’s to say how much time is needed for one person to fall in love with another? Some people have known each other their entire lives and never really fall. Some people have always had a certain person in their lives and, one day, wake up and finally “see” him in a completely different light. Some people meet and the rest is history.

Me? It took me a total of 12 days to fall in love. And the best thing about it is that he loves me too.

I know some people won’t understand and I know that there will be a lot of questions. If you’re one of them, then I guess this post will be a complete and utter disappointment to you. You see, no matter how many questions you ask – how it happened, how it could have happened, why it happened – I have no answers for you except this: It happened. So there.

No, I didn’t know him since forever. Before last month, he wasn’t even remotely a part of my life – so I didn’t just wake up one day seeing him as someone who was more than a friend. He was someone that I met and got to know at the right place at the right time.  I was ready for him when he found me. 

Finally.

Finally.

The night he told me he loved me, I did not ask if he was sure. I didn’t ask why. I accepted it for what it was – the truth. I don’t know how I knew. I just did.

Even before having met him, I knew one day I would love him. I fell in love with his mind and his heart and a little bit of his soul… Everything else was icing on the cake. You have to understand that life has been long and lonely for me. That I have been broken so many times. That I was completely prepared to be alone. But I met him and that changed. When I listen to his voice, my heart feels so much lighter. When I look at him, I do not see the perfect man, but I see a beautiful, beautiful person. When I learn about his life, it sometimes feels like a life that I had lived. No, we are not the same person and I will never claim that – but with him I found something that I could not find in myself. With him, I found peace.

It’s the kind of peace that makes you smile for no reason, at some random moment of the day. It’s the kind of peace that makes you feel that everything will be alright and no matter what life throws your way, you’ll be able to get through it – and that you wouldn’t have to go through it alone. It’s the kind of peace that makes you believe that you are worth it. It’s the kind that proves that sometimes it doesn’t have to be so hard after all.

One thing that I’ve learned was that I was not looking for a man who would save me. At the end of the day, the only person who could save me is me. I was looking for someone who would be there… Who would hold my hand… Who would hold me close… Who would understand. I was looking for someone who would be there while I tried to save myself.

In all honesty, I do not owe anyone any kind of explanation. The fact of the matter is, there is no explanation. There is no what or how or why for me. For me there just is.

One me. One him. One love.

And I couldn’t be happier.

 

 

Blessed Be…

Enhanced by Zemanta

1 Comment

Filed under This So-Called Life

One response to “74 in ’12: How The Pieces Fit

  1. Pingback: 75 in ’12: Yours | Amor Vincit Omnia

Leave a Reply

